My Collection - Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Below is my collection of Single Malt Scotch acquired over a period of time.. but first let's go over a few basic things...

Scotch - a brief overview

The word ‘Scotch’, has a geographical significance which is also widely recognised in law throughout the world. A whisky can be called "Scotch" or "Scotch Whisky" only if it has been wholly distilled and matured in oak casks in Scotland for at least 3 years and 1 day.

[The term Whisky (or Whiskey in Irish) is derived from Scottish Gaelic "Uisge-Beatha" or Irish "Uisce beatha"]

Single Malt: To be a single malt scotch the whisky must have been distilled at a single distillery using a pot still distillation process and made from a mash of malted barley.

Single: indicates that all the spirits in the bottle come from a single distillery. Bottlings containing malt whisky from multiple distilleries are called "blended malt".
Malt: indicates that the whisky is distilled from a "malted" barley. Several types of grains can be malted (for example, barley, rye and wheat are all grains which can be malted); however, in the case of single malt Scotch, barley is the only grain used.

According to the Scotch Whisky Association (SWA) Scotland itself has been divided into five scotch producing regions:
The Highlands, The Lowlands, The Isle of Islay, Campbeltown and The Speyside


Speyside single malts are single malt Scotch whiskies, distilled in Strathspey, the area around the River Spey in Moray and Badenoch and Strathspey, in northeastern Scotland. Speyside has the largest number of any of the whisky-producing areas of Scotland. The two best-selling single malt whiskies in the world, The Glenlivet and Glenfiddich, come from Speyside. Speyside whiskies can generally be classified as light and grassy (e.g. Glenlivet) or rich and sweet (e.g. Macallan)

Distilleries: Aberlour, Balvenie, Cardhu, Cragganmore, Glenfarclas, Glenglassaugh, Glenfiddich, GlenGrant, Glenlivet, Glenrothes, Macallan, Singleton, Speyburn and Tamdhu.

The Highlands

Highland single malts are single malt Scotch whiskies produced in the Highland region of Scotland. This categorization includes the whiskies produced on the islands around the perimeter of Scotland (the Island single malts), except for Islay (see Islay whisky). Incongruously, the area also includes certain lowland areas in the North-East of the country such as Banffshire and Aberdeenshire.

Distilleries: Aberfeldy, Ardmore, Edradour, Balblair, Ben Nevis, Dalmore, Dalwhinnie, Glendronach, GlenGarioch, Glengoyne, GlenOrd, Glenmorangie, Oban, Old Pulteney, Tullibardine and Tomatin.

The Islands

Island single malts is a general term for single malt Scotch whiskies produced on the islands around the perimeter of the Scottish mainland. The islands (excluding Islay) are not recognised in the Scotch Whisky Regulations as a distinct whisky producing region, but are considered to be part of the Highland region. Islay is itself recognised as a distinct whisky producing region (see Islay whisky). The whiskies produced on the Islands are extremely varied and have few similarities, though can often be distinguished from other whisky regions by generally having a smokier flavour with peaty undertones.

Distilleries: Islands of Arran, Jura, Mull, Orkney, and Skye with their respective distilleries Arran, Jura, Tobermory, Highland Park and Scapa, and Talisker.


from Isle of Arran


from Isle of Jura


from Isle of Skye


from Isle of Mull

Highland Park

from Orkney Islands


Islay whisky is Scotch whisky made on Islay or Ìle in Gaelic, one of the southernmost of the Inner Hebridean Islands located off the west coast of Scotland. Islay is one of five whisky distilling localities and regions in Scotland whose identity is protected by law. There are eight active distilleries and the industry is the island's second largest employer after agriculture. Islay is a centre of "whisky tourism", and hosts a "Festival of Malt and Music" known as Fèis Ìle each year on the last week of May, with events and tastings celebrating the cultural heritage of the island.

Distilleries: Ardbeg, Bowmore, Bruichladdich, Bunnahabhain, Caol Ila, Kilchoman, Lagavulin, and Laphroaig.


Campbeltown single malts are single malt Scotch whiskies distilled in the burgh of Campbeltown, on the Kintyre peninsula in Scotland. Once a major producer of whisky with as many as 30 distilleries, and claiming the title "whisky capital of the world", its production has markedly declined. Most of the distilleries have gone out of business and little trace of them remains.

Distilleries: Glen Scotia, Glengyle, and Springbank (Kilkerran/Hazelburn).

The Lowlands

Lowland single malts are single malt whiskies distilled in Scotland's lowlands. Traditionally Lowland single malts are triple distilled (though this has not been true of all of them), often giving them a lighter taste.

Distilleries: There are five that remain in operation: Auchentoshan, Bladnoch, Glenkinchie, Annandale and Ailsa Bay from the Girvan Distillery plus three more—Daftmill, Eden Mill, and Kingsbarns—are currently pending their first releases.